Indigo Rose Software

Professional Software Development Tools

 
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 37
  1. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Location! Location!
    Posts
    6,135
    Quote Originally Posted by Corey
    Not bad for free.
    Corey...

    You stated there are lot of free PHP 5 hosting companys. Any you recommend?

    My provider only offers PHP 4.3.0, and I noticed that PHP 5 has several functions that cut down on one's coding (like, file_put_contents).

    If they did not have ADs of any sort that would rock as well... but, I understand if the free offering comes with such ties.

    Thanks in advance,
    Intrigued

  2. #17
    Corey is offline Indigo Rose Staff Alumni
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    9,746
    Hi I don't have any specific names since free hosts come and go so fast but there's a few sites like this which can help you find something quick:

    http://www.free-webhosts.com/

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Location! Location!
    Posts
    6,135
    Quote Originally Posted by Corey
    Hi I don't have any specific names since free hosts come and go so fast but there's a few sites like this which can help you find something quick:

    http://www.free-webhosts.com/
    I hear you...

    Earlier I spent 20 minutes looking through sites like that one you posted (but not that one in particular, thanks). Some have some zany requirements.

    Intrigued

  4. #19
    Corey is offline Indigo Rose Staff Alumni
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    9,746
    Yeah, I've seen a few whacky ones, "Must be a Guyanese soccer player between 14 and 42 with interests in biology, gourmet cooking, and stilt juggling", etc...

    I know for a fact there are some freebies with PHP5 because I tested some scripts a few months ago that way. Wish I could remember the name but hey, let's face, frankly I'm lucky I manage to find my way to the keyboard each morning, let alone recall something like that. Think "Jim" from the TV show "Taxi".

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    2,466
    Great example that works perfectly using my website. Once again it's an example that immediately starts the cogs whirring and I can think of all sorts of ways to extend this - for starters in a help system to automatically collect system data to append to requests - because users never give you enough detail do they

    I've been asked if I could implement something similar on our lan. I've got access to a server running IIS and I'll install php on there but if I understand things correctly php will have to be able to 'see' an smtp server right? Anybody done this?

  6. #21
    Corey is offline Indigo Rose Staff Alumni
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    9,746
    Hi. I'm not too sure about that, does this link maybe answer that?

    http://www.phpbb.com/phpBB/viewtopic.php?p=1454249

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    2,466
    Thanks Corey - seems to doesn't it. I read it as "You don't need access to smtp server so I shall be giving that a try", either way the combination/example is great

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    2

    Here A New Way

    $subject = $HTTP_GET_VARS["sb"];
    $body = $HTTP_GET_VARS["body"];
    $from = $HTTP_GET_VARS["from"];
    // specify recipient email address
    $to="Your E-mail Address";

    // send our email
    mail ("$to","$subject","$body","$from");
    echo "To: " . $to . " |Subject: " . $subject. " |From: " .$from." |Message: " .$body;
    ?>

    Save To Any Name With The Extension (.php)

  9. #24
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    2

    Here A New Way

    First Create Three Label And Name It As Follow
    From:
    Subject:
    Messege:
    Then Create Three Input
    Then Create A Button
    And Set The Text As Submit
    And Add The Below Script To The Submit Button On The On Click Event


    -- clear error variable
    error = 0;

    -- Get values from input fields
    from = Input.GetText("Input1");
    subject = Input.GetText("Input2");
    body = Input.GetText("Input3");
    -- Submit To Server
    tSubmitValues = {
    sb = subject;
    body = body;
    from = from;
    }

    -- check for empty fields and deliver errors if needed
    if String.Length(from) < 1 then
    Dialog.Message("Error", "Please enter your email address and re-submit. Thank you.");
    error = 1;
    end
    if String.Length(subject) < 1 then
    Dialog.Message("Error", "Please enter your email subject and re-submit. Thank you.");
    error = 1;
    end
    if String.Length(body) < 1 then
    Dialog.Message("Error", "Please enter your email message and re-submit. Thank you.");
    error = 1;
    end

    if error~=1 then
    -- if no errors exist, send the email now and give a confirmation dialog
    result = HTTP.Submit("http://Your Website Address/Your Script.php", tSubmitValues, SUBMITWEB_GET, 1, Your Port Number, nil, nil);
    Dialog.Message("Submit Confirmation", "The Following Data You Just Sent Is: \r\n" .. result);
    Dialog.Message("Thank You", "We Will Get Back To You Shortly\r\n", MB_OK, MB_ICONINFORMATION, MB_DEFBUTTON1);
    Page.Jump("Home");
    end

  10. #25
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    89

    Exampel sends empty email

    The example given to download in this thread always sends an empty email for me.

    Yet no one else seems to have had problems with it.

  11. #26
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    2

    same problem

    same problem here.... empty message from my own "to" address

  12. #27
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    2
    myhq's way seems to work :P

  13. #28
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    130
    Code:
    myhq's way seems to work :P
    but i get "nobody" as the email sender
    and the sender adress i use get wrote inside the mail :(

  14. #29
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    182
    Many thanks for the example Corey

  15. #30
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    8
    if i want its will send the message from 2 input text

    i cant do (Input.GetText("Input1")); (Input.GetText("Input2"));

    so how i will do this?

    for explame:

    To:
    Subject:
    Age:
    Address:

    and the message mail will send to me like this:

    Subject
    and the message will be(body):
    Age:
    Address:
    Last edited by tripc; 11-18-2006 at 04:36 PM.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Press Release: AutoPlay Media Studio 5.0 Training CD's
    By Colin in forum Announcements & News
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-15-2004, 01:40 PM
  2. AutoPlay Media Studio 4.0 Documentation
    By Colin in forum AutoPlay Media Studio 4.0
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-18-2003, 11:58 AM
  3. What's new in AMS 5.0?
    By Ted in forum AutoPlay Media Studio 5.0
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-22-2003, 03:56 PM
  4. HOWTO: Build and Burn Your AutoPlay Application
    By Support in forum AutoPlay Media Studio 4.0 Examples
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-28-2002, 03:43 PM
  5. HOWTO: Make an AutoPlay Application Expire
    By Support in forum AutoPlay Media Studio 4.0 Examples
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-09-2002, 10:10 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts