• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • synistics
    Forum Member
    • Feb 2004

Processor based direction

Total newbie to all of this, so diving into the deep end.

I need to be able to grab the processor speed from the system so that I can tell viewers that they are below a threshold CPU and may find issues with the video/audio sync.

result = Registry.GetValueType(HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE, "HARDWARE\DESCRIPTION\System\CentralProcessor\0\~M Hz ", "Mhz");
    DecimalValue = tonumber(result, 16)
    Dialog.Message("Your processor","CPU"..DecimalValue.."Mhz",MB_OK, MB_ICONINFORMATION);

if DecimalValue < 4294967294 then

Dialog.Message("Notice","Your processor blah blah blah, and a lot more blah", MB_OK, MB_ICONINFORMATION);
    end

I tried the set up from another thread in here and it just always returned me a value of 1

It is going into the business community, focused at smalled business, which on times will be CPU challenged.

Help will be greatly appreciated.
  • TJ_Tigger
    Indigo Rose Customer
    • Sep 2002

It looks like you use the Registry.GetValueType and not Registry.GetValue action. Type "1" is Reg_sz.
    TJ-Tigger
    "A common mistake that people make when trying to design something completely foolproof was to underestimate the ingenuity of complete fools."
    "Draco dormiens nunquam titillandus."
    Map of IR Forum Users - IR Project CodeViewer - Online Help - TiggTV - QuizEngine

Comment

• synistics
      Forum Member
      • Feb 2004

Tried your variations, but let's go back to your original thread, when I plug in your coding it always gives me a value of one.

This particula one that I pasted in always returns a constant number whether I stick it in a 2 gig or an old 166, so I know that is not working

Comment

• TJ_Tigger
        Indigo Rose Customer
        • Sep 2002

Here try this.

processorspeed_hex = Registry.GetValue(HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE, "\\HARDWARE\\DESCRIPTION\\System\\CentralProcessor \\0\\", "~MHz", true);