Indigo Rose Software

Professional Software Development Tools

 
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    75

    3 AMS projects sharing the same data ?

    Hi All,

    This is a unique situation for me as I have never run more than
    one AMS project at time on a PC.

    I have 3 seperate compiled AMS projects running at once.
    They all use the same graphics, objects etc, however each project
    does have its own function and purpose.

    My question is, is there a way to compile all three to share
    the same graphics and objects to reduce the amount of
    hard disk space the three will use ? Im sure there is a really
    simple answer thats going to make me feel stupid. Would
    running all exe's from the same folder and specifying the same
    data path do it ?? I have tinkered a bit there but want to know
    if that may cause other issues.

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    2,466
    I've never done it but I would have thought that if the 2 'sub-apps' are exes located within the folder structure of the main app, then you could use SFXSOURCE to reference the shared resources.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    75
    Thanks for reply longedge, I shall check that out now.
    However Im realising the resource and data files are
    not the space invaders. Its the individual exe files.
    Seems the minimum size per exe is 5-6 megs.

    Im wondering if I can run multiple instances of
    the same exe and import scripts via the dofile
    to perform the different tasks required...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    5,557
    why not build all 3 apps into the same project and just launch a new instance of the exe with a command line switch to display the correct portion of the application, page 1 is app 1, page 2 app 2 and so on

    you can use scripts to do pretty much anything that AMS has to offer by default but you can not create plugin objects dynamically like that so if you use plugins you would want create static pages

    with scripts you can make a AMS runtime designed for a particular purpose do 101 other things as well, its just knowing how to use them, a lot of trial n error and a huge box of headache tablets will help you through

  5. #5
    Mick is offline No longer a forum member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    173
    I build my apps to a folder then repack them with The Enigma Protector, if you did that you would just have one folder structure shared by all apps

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    75
    Quote Originally Posted by RizlaUK View Post
    why not build all 3 apps into the same project and just launch a new instance of the exe with a command line switch to display the correct portion of the application, page 1 is app 1, page 2 app 2 and so on

    you can use scripts to do pretty much anything that AMS has to offer by default but you can not create plugin objects dynamically like that so if you use plugins you would want create static pages

    with scripts you can make a AMS runtime designed for a particular purpose do 101 other things as well, its just knowing how to use them, a lot of trial n error and a huge box of headache tablets will help you through
    I tried this exact approach, I was going to put each app on a seperate page,
    but was under the impression that the main exe could not spawn itself again
    on each page whilst it was running. Do you have that command line switch
    handy ?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    75
    Quote Originally Posted by Mick View Post
    I build my apps to a folder then repack them with The Enigma Protector, if you did that you would just have one folder structure shared by all apps
    That looks like some neat software, does it work well with remote deployment ?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    75
    RizlaUK (Or anyone that may know)

    I can launch the main exe multiple times from explorer,
    but not from within the running exe.
    Is there a trick to this ?? I think I could do what I was
    seeking if yes.

  9. #9
    Mick is offline No longer a forum member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    173
    Quote Originally Posted by Automan View Post
    That looks like some neat software, does it work well with remote deployment ?
    Not sure what you mean by remote, but you can call virtulized exe files from the app with command line and receive exit codes, haven't tested this yet;

    http://www.mindquake.com.br/en/actions/multithread

    but reasonably sure using that and the protector will let you do what you need and be able to have the exe files talk to each other when running

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    75
    Thanks for the suggestion Mick, I did download and had a play around
    with the plugin. Although it didnt do "exactly" as I wanted, its something
    I can see that will be useful for other projects, thankyou !

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts