Indigo Rose Software

Professional Software Development Tools

 
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Harrisburg, PA , USA
    Posts
    130

    Windows 7 x64 bit Custom Screen Timer

    Windows 7 x64 bit

    Running a Setup Factory setup Compiled with Setup Factory 9.0.4.0 The screen Timer on a Custom screen do not work correctly for example 1 seconds look like 3 seconds. or something Close to that. This same screen timers worked in XP.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Indigo Rose Software
    Posts
    1,864
    I'm sorry, but I was unable to replicate the issue you described.
    Darryl
    Indigo Rose Corporation

    Product Guides: AMS80 | SUF9 | TU30 | VP30 |MSIFACT |DeltaMAX

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Harrisburg, PA , USA
    Posts
    130

    Windows 7 x64 bit Custom Screen Timer

    Quote Originally Posted by Darryl View Post
    I'm sorry, but I was unable to replicate the issue you described.
    How would you like me to replicate my results for you. Should send you my script. The compiled program. or a type of capture screen video?

    Thank you for responding.. I so appreciate it.
    Last edited by jcuster; 05-14-2012 at 09:58 AM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Indigo Rose Software
    Posts
    1,864
    Well, we need to be able to replicate it on our end, so any additional information would be helpful, whether it be a sample project, short script with instructions on exactly where you have it etc. As I say, my test didn't have the same result, so there may be something different about how you have it setup.
    Darryl
    Indigo Rose Corporation

    Product Guides: AMS80 | SUF9 | TU30 | VP30 |MSIFACT |DeltaMAX

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Harrisburg, PA , USA
    Posts
    130
    Quote Originally Posted by Darryl View Post
    Well, we need to be able to replicate it on our end, so any additional information would be helpful, whether it be a sample project, short script with instructions on exactly where you have it etc. As I say, my test didn't have the same result, so there may be something different about how you have it setup.
    I'll work on ensuring there is no sensitive information in the project tomorrow. I'll upload it with full details.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Indigo Rose Software
    Posts
    1,864
    If possible, take the relevant content for reproducing the error and create a new project instead of sending your current one. That will make it much easier to test, and narrow the problem down as well.
    Darryl
    Indigo Rose Corporation

    Product Guides: AMS80 | SUF9 | TU30 | VP30 |MSIFACT |DeltaMAX

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Harrisburg, PA , USA
    Posts
    130
    Quote Originally Posted by Darryl View Post
    If possible, take the relevant content for reproducing the error and create a new project instead of sending your current one. That will make it much easier to test, and narrow the problem down as well.
    I see how you tested the scenerio from what I described. I could get a timer to work properly while the Setup Factory installer with the custom screen is ran on the desktop. I created a new project with the same results that I described.

    I have one Setup Factory program running another Setup Factory program using the action File.RunOnReboot action

    When the Second Setup Factory program runs the custom screen timers do not work properly.

    Windows 7 as different then XP uses The File.RunonReboot action differently. The File.RunonReboot on XP would run the Setup Factory program on the actual desktop. Though Windows 7 Seem to Load the File.RunonReboot somewhere else

    Simply put
    Create a Project with just a custum screen showing the countdown for seconds
    Use File.RunonReboot to run the same program again.
    Attached Files

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Indigo Rose Software
    Posts
    1,864
    I haven't tested yet, but if what you're describing is only visible on the second instance of the installer that is run after the reboot, that wouldn't surprise me at all. In that case the installer is run fairly early in the boot process along side all of the other processes etc. that are starting up during that period. As a result, there are definitely going to be pauses when trying to do anything at that point (launching/working with other programs etc.). For example, if you tried to install files at that point, I'm sure it would also pause a bunch of times. Based on what you've decribed, and briefly looking at your project, that's what I would say is the cause, not the timer itself.
    Darryl
    Indigo Rose Corporation

    Product Guides: AMS80 | SUF9 | TU30 | VP30 |MSIFACT |DeltaMAX

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts