• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • NickT
    Indigo Rose Customer
    • Aug 2005

Always Update Certain Files

I have been using VP for a few months, and one issue that has come up is that as you add additional versions, the patch file grows larger and takes longer to build. We have noticed that regardless of which version the end user has installed, we always want a core group of DLLs and one EXE file to be replaced with the most current version, and also verify that a few other files are installed to various places. Is there a way to do this easily with VP so that I don't have to create a new version every time we make a change? If I select ever version in the build settings, it takes a really long time, and all I want it to do is just replace a few files with newer ones.

Is this even possible with VP or does it always work off of diffs?

thanks!
  • Steven Carr
    Indigo Rose Customer
    • Jul 2001

I don't think you can effectively get away with not creating a new "version" every time you do an update as there has to be someway to know which "version" is currently installed and what "version" you are patching to.

There is a way to always install a file "Force Install" - From the help file:

Whether or not to force Visual Patch to install the file. This means that if a file with the same name exists in the destination, it will be overwritten. If the file does not exist, it will install it.

Note: Checking this option means that the full copy of this file will be included in the patch.
    This setting should help you do what you need to - but if you use this setting liberally then your patch is going to grow in size while you make less and less use of VPs patching engine.

If you can make use of VPs #VERSIONTABNAME# macro as part of the local folder name then you can minimise the manual changes required create a new patch update.