• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • jh014d8230
    Forum Member
    • Jan 2005

Search my pages??

Sorry if this has already been asked. Im quite new with AutoPlay Media Studio.

I have a project and it contains many differnt pages. What I would like to do is have a seperate 'search' page where the user can search for a word and when they click on the search button it will display the page that contains that word.

I havent got a clue on how to do this but I know that problems could ocour when more than one page has the certain word that the user shall search for. But I have this sorted, dont worry, that will not happen

Any help aprishated

Thanks
  • yosik
    Indigo Rose Customer
    • Jun 2002

Hi,
    It's a bit difficult to help you without further details. What type of tezt do you have? Where is it located? Why is it on many pages?
    A little more description of your project would able us to help you.

Yossi

Comment

• Corey
      Indigo Rose Staff Alumni
      • Aug 2002

Yes Yossi's right, but anyhow I can give you a general shape of how something like this might take form, maybe that'll help *a bit*.

Essentially you need a content pool somewhere in order to search things, this is true for any service, site, or application. Typically you would want to eliminate certain content from that pool, i.e. "and", "or", "the", etc. But this is not strictly neccesary.

The idea is generally to create your content pool (in your case that may just be a few flat text files which contain text data from your pages) beforehand so that searches are faster, i.e. it takes much longer to parse a web site than it does to parse a database. Anyhow that's an oversimplification but you get the idea.