• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Quantrac
    Indigo Rose Customer
    • Jan 2004

Need Help With Code Please.

I'm not very good with this programming stuff, so if anyone could please help me with a code I need, it would be greatly apprciated. Everything I try I always get a build failed error. This is what I am needing.

Renaming a file comctl32.ocx located in the system folder for all windows versions. Rename it to something like comctl32_backup.ocx. Then I would like it to copy comctl32.ocx from the autoplay root to the windows system folder (All windows versions). When it has finished replacing the file a status dialog message saying the update has completed.

I hope this is simple for someone to help me with. You can email me the code at [email protected].

Thanks so much.

Amy
  • Worm
    Indigo Rose Customer
    • Jul 2002

A couple things to be aware of here. It is not generally a good idea to replace an OCX file with another unless you sure that you are replacing with a newer version of the OCX. Replacing with an older OCX can cause you many problems in other apps. Especially this particular OCX since it is part of the Windows Common Controls.

Also, if the file is in use by any Windows App, you won't be able to replace/rename it until they are closed.

Since its an ActiveX control, it'll need to be registered with the OS if in fact you do replace the original.

Do you mind if I ask what you are trying to accomplish?
    (besides the obvious anyway)

Comment

• Quantrac
      Indigo Rose Customer
      • Jan 2004