PDA

View Full Version : Macromedia Director



Gfunk
02-29-2004, 02:17 PM
Hi dose anybody know if Autoplay supports this Macromedia Director format because when I try to
launch action to run the director exe. it comes up with an error,. Even if you try to launch file in the DOCS folder will not run.

The error is can't find the movie playlist

thanks

eric_darling
02-29-2004, 02:18 PM
Well, AMS doesn't support any non-AMS created executable per se... It will simply support launching another .exe file. So, in effect, AMS supports Director created executables exactly the same as it supports any other executable on the Windows platform.

Corey
02-29-2004, 02:36 PM
Hi. .exe isn't director format, as Eric mentions it's a Windows format, "Windows Executablle File". .exe files published from any application, whether that be Director or another app, can be freely launched from AutoPlay Media Studio.

You can also deploy shockwave via the web browser object in the Pro edition of AMS...

But anyhow please post details of the error and I'll try to help you figure out how to get it working, or better yet, upload a screencap if you can. :)

Corey Milner
Creative Director, Indigo Rose Software (http://www.indigorose.com)

Gfunk
03-01-2004, 11:35 AM
Hi Corey

here is the fscreen capture of the error i am getting


Thanks

Corey
03-01-2004, 12:09 PM
Hi. That is an error from your Director application not the AMS application... This is related to the Director app and could be better assisted by someone who knows Director, maybe if you post that screencap to one of the busy Director forums around the net they'll be able to help you fix it.

Corey Milner
Creative Director, Indigo Rose Software (http://www.indigorose.com)

Brett
03-01-2004, 12:42 PM
Please post the script that you are using to launch the director executable. It will may easier to diagnose from there.

Adam
03-01-2004, 01:35 PM
Did you put all of the dependency files in the docs folder as well as the exe? Did you set a working directory? Are you using any command line options? Basically the exe is launching fine but it is missing some files that it needs to run properly.

Adam Kapilik

Gfunk
03-01-2004, 02:07 PM
Hi Guy's

Bret here si the script that i am using,
It's just one of the built inscripts.

File.Run("AutoPlay\\Docs\\gobittersweet\\Bittersweet Presentation.exe", "", "AutoPlay\\Docs\\gobittersweet\\Files", SW_SHOWNORMAL, false);

Adam

Yes I have put all the files into the doc folder where the file needs them to run. But it dose not even run when you go into the folder and try to run the file.
As soon as you move the the folder out of Autoplay projects folder the file works. I have made several different versions of the file, but to no sucess.

Brett
03-01-2004, 03:42 PM
What if you try:

File.Run(_SourceFolder.."\\AutoPlay\\Docs\\gobittersweet\\Bittersweet Presentation.exe", "",_SourceFolder.."\\AutoPlay\\Docs\\gobittersweet\\Files", SW_SHOWNORMAL, false);

Adam
03-01-2004, 03:56 PM
Gfunk,

I have come across this in the past (with different viewers). The issue could be that the file path (to the MyDocuments Dir\\your dir) are too long for the viewer to handle. Have you actually tried to burn your project yet? I would give this a try.

You can change the location of your default projects under Edit -> Preferences.

Adam Kapilik

Gfunk
03-01-2004, 04:25 PM
Cheers Guys

Adam was right the path was too long, and that what was the problem

Thanks

Adam
03-01-2004, 04:30 PM
This type of issue has caused me some headaches in the past. I will add this to our knowledgebase section.

Adam Kapilik

Corey
03-01-2004, 05:08 PM
Me too. Live and learn. Nice one Atomic Man. :)

Corey Milner
Creative Director, Indigo Rose Software (http://www.indigorose.com)