Hello, I need help with Icon installation action.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • lt04
    Forum Member
    • Feb 2004

Hello, I need help with Icon installation action.

Hello,

I'm new to this program and I'm running the trial version to see how it works. I have a simple little project that I need help with.

All I need it to do is autorun and load a URL from a CD which I got to work using an action. What I also need to happen is while the URL is loading, I need the program to install a custom icon onto the users desktop that is a link to another website. Is this possible? If so, any help would be greatly appreciated.

I'm assumming my entire project could be done with actions. I'm also assuming that I would need to load the custom icon into the project folder.

Again, thank you for your help in advance.

Larry
  • Lorne
    Indigo Rose Staff Member
    • Feb 2001

It's not only possible, it's really easy.

What you want is the Shell.CreateShortcut action.
    --[[ Indigo Rose Software Developer ]]

Comment

• Lorne
      Indigo Rose Staff Member
      • Feb 2001

For more information, check out the help file topic on this action. You can access it from within AutoPlay by pressing F1.

You can also view the same topic on the web here: http://www.indigorose.com/webhelp/am...teShortcut.htm

Comment

• lt04
        Forum Member
        • Feb 2004

Icon on desktop reply - more help

Thank you very much for the help but I have one more small issue.

The action you told me about works great except for one thing. When the cd runs it installs an icon on the desktop that is linked to a web site(perfect), the problem is that the icon path is linked back to the cd because it is a shotcut. I dont want the user to have put the cd in to see the icon after the computer is restarted.

Is there a different action that will load the icon permanently so it does not have to link back to the cd where it was installed from? I hope this makes sense.

Thanks again,