• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Fleaby
    Indigo Rose Customer
    • Jul 2003

Install documents as archieve

Hi, I'm new (obviously), I'm also extremely new to setup factory, so sorry if I sound a bit stupid. My problem requires a sort explanation of our company. We produce manuals that are in word and excel documents and they are distributed on CD. We contracted an outside company to make a setup file to 'install' the documents to the clients computer which turns the read-only off thus making them achieves. To use this setup file with any documents we like they set it up so that we put anything we like in a folder called "Documents" and this folder, along with the setup file is burnt onto the CD. The company told us they used Setup Factory to produce the setup file. We have come to a point where we need to update the file but unfortunately they have now gone out of business, so we decided to purchase Setup Factory and do it ourselves and thus we come to our problem.

We have no problems with the screen and think we've got the changing files from read-only to achieve figured out but we can't figure out how to get the "Documents" folder bit to work. If anyone could give us some idea of how to go about this it would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance, Fleaby
  • Darryl
    Indigo Rose Staff Member
    • Jul 2001

Re: Install documents as archieve

If I understand your question correctly, you need to have the number and names of the files in the "Documents" folder on the CD-ROM dynamic. Normally using the Archive tab and the CD-ROM tab, the files that are defined at design time, must be present or you will receive an install error. Therefore another method will need to be used.

You also need to modify the attributes of the file. Therefore the action you will need for that is the "Install File" action which will install one file.

One method you could use is the following: