• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • mcooper
    Forum Member
    • Jul 2011

Conditional Text and settings on a dialog

Hi All. I am brand new to Setup Factory and am wanting to replace my existing installer with this product. Setup Factory seems to have everytihing that I need, but I am unable to figure out this scenario.

During our installation, we determine whether or not our runtime has already been installed in which case we want to give the user the option of using the currently installed runtime (default) or reinstalling it. Users that never have had the runtime component installed should not get any choice at it... it just installs.

We determine this by querying the existance of a Registry key.... so I built this Global Function:

Code:
    -- Checks to see if VDF16.1 is installed
    VDFInstalled = Registry.DoesKeyExist(HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE, "SOFTWARE\\Data Access Worldwide\\Visual Dataflex\\15.1");

if (VDFInstalled) then
       SessionVar.Set("%InstallVDF%" , "False");
       SessionVar.Set("InstallVDFText%", "The runtime component is already installed.  It is recommended that you do not re-install the runtime.");
    else 
       SessionVar.Set("%InstallVDF%" , "True");
       SessionVar.Set("InstallVDFText%", "The runtime component NEEDS TO BE INSTALLED.");
    end
    But it seems that my InstallVDF and my InstallVDFText variables to not take on the values in this function... At least the Dialog in which I use these two variables do not show the values assigned by the script.

If somebody has an idea of how to do what I need to do, it would be awesome.

Lastly, the script that is used is not familiar to me. Can somebody let me know the script language so that I can start to study it a bit more?

Thanks in advance,

Mike
  • Ulrich
    Indigo Rose Staff Member
    • Apr 2005

Setup Factory uses Lua. You can find the description of all custom functions in the documentation.