• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Mexxi
    Forum Member
    • Aug 2009

A full package of suggestions

Hi there,

I'm using Setup Factory currently in a project that spans 10.000 files and about 6GB. I'm fairly new to it and found it to be powerful, yet limited and sometimes even buggy. The following is based on my experience. I haven't read through all the suggestion section, so excuse me if I'm requesting something others have already asked for. Just take it as another vote for that feature. Also take it easy on me, if that feature already exists and I just overlooked it

- Simulation mode for the installation script. The build process takes about 2 hours on my system. Compressing files over and over again in each run is highly inefficient. It would be great if there was a way to simulate the installation without any file movement. Alternatively, there could be an option to allow building the installer without any files, or only with packages in it, to keep the load low. Another possibility would be if SUF would support to compress files into extra archives and keeping the installation algorithm in an extra executable. This way, the archives could be kept and just the executable would have to be rebuild. This would get rid of redundancy and overhead very efficiently.

- SUF should automatically delete all registry settings that have been made during installation.