• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • kpsmith
    Forum Member
    • Jul 2000

DVD/AMS Hybrid

Here's what I'm after...

A DVD that will play in a set-top player with the Standard DVD file structure. Now if you throw it into a PC it will instead launch and Autplay menu with buttons that give you options like:

Play the DVD
    Open Document.pdf

I've seen this done once with a Director application on the PC side so I know it works... my question is has anyone tried this using an AMS frontend for the PC side and if so How would you "Play the DVD" in the users default DVD player app?
  • Geoffh
    Indigo Rose Customer
    • Jun 2003

Re: DVD/AMS Hybrid

That's an interesting one.
    I am no expert at this and have never done it, so don't know if this'll work. Just thinking out loud, theoretically I guess you could author the DVD in 2 sections. The regular DVD MPEG-2 video with your menu structure that would work in domestic DVD players.

The second part could be an application authored in Autoplay and burnt as ROM data on the DVD (some DVD programs allow this)

The bit I am not sure about is whether you can author something in AMS that'll play the DVD MPEG-2 video. I wonder if you could include DVD player software in the AMS project so that you could launch the DVD player software from the AMS project.

I am presuming you want to have a hydrid so that you can create an interactive presentation but get the highest quality MPEG-2 video. I had been thinking about that for training purposes but haven't done any experiments yet.

Regards
    Geoff
    P.S. This is just me thinking aloud, I hope it triggers some other ideas.

Comment

• AXXESS
      Forum Member
      • Nov 2001

The trick would be to keep the DVD viewing app from launching automatically when the DVD is inserted, but yet the autorun function to occur to launch the AMS project.

Comment

• Lorne
        Indigo Rose Staff Member
        • Feb 2001