• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Geoffh
    Indigo Rose Customer
    • Jun 2003

Second Project help

I am quite new to Autoplay. I have completed one project but need to get in more hours.

The CD based product training project conisted of Swish animated menus saved as Flash movies. The menu's linked to video saved as wmv and some Camtasia screen captures saved as avi (using the tscc codec). I did have problems with users not being able to play the wmv.

I have these questions about improving project design.

In Swish the menu aninmations can be exported as AVI or Flash. Which format would be best to use. I also want to be able to jump to specific places in the animation, is that possible?

I know this ones been asked before. Which video format is recommended for the best compromise of highest quality and user playability. AVI, WMV, QT?

For Camtasia screen captures what is the best format? avi, Flash, etc? for playability and quality.

I am starting my second project which will be almost identical as the first but I want to make sure I design it better this time and improve the playability so that it caters to the lowest common denominator hopefully.
    cheers Geoff
  • Corey
    Indigo Rose Staff Alumni
    • Aug 2002

Re: Second Project help

Hi.

In Swish the menu aninmations can be exported as AVI or Flash. Which format would be best to use. I also want to be able to jump to specific places in the animation, is that possible?

>>> Which is best depends on what you're doing. Flash is better used for interactive presentations, and video, well it's video... Totally passive, very little interactivity but high impact. If you post a few details about the specific usage I can make a better assessment for you. Whether you use Flash or video it's still easy to jump to specific places within your movie using SEEK actions for the given object type... Here's a couple random thoughts:

Macromedia Flash
    A few "pros":
    - Highly interactive