• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • NoNickWorking
    Forum Member
    • Dec 2007

User defined file copying?

Hi,
    I'm new to AMS and right on the first project I'm running into some problems:

All I want is that when I click a button, a popup comes up to ask the user where he wants to copy the file.

I've used the forum search ("file copy" and "file copy destination") but couldn't find the answer. :o

Is there an easy way to do this?

Thanks in advance!

Kind regards

P.S.: Sorry about the nick. I've tried my usual nick (Markstar) but that didnt' work. Then tried some others but all were rejected (including a weired one). This was just a last test to see if I'd get it to work at all.
  • Mina
    Forum Member
    • Oct 2005

Try this

Code:
    vA = (_SourceFolder.."\\myfile.exe") -- (the file you want to copy)
    vB = Dialog.FolderBrowse("Where to copy the file to", _Desktop);
    File.Copy(vA, vB, true, true, false, true, nil);

Comment

• NoNickWorking
      Forum Member
      • Dec 2007

Thank you so much!!!!!

It worked after I changed _Desktop to "_Desktop" (it required a string).

This works EXACTLY how I wanted it to! :yes
      Last edited by NoNickWorking; 12-18-2007, 05:00 PM.

Comment

• NoNickWorking
        Forum Member
        • Dec 2007

Argh, now I want to do the same with File.Install (because it can create a backup), but somehow this doesn't work. Here is the code:
        Code:
        vA = ("\\test.exe")
        vB = Dialog.FolderBrowse("Where to install the file to", "_Desktop");
        result = File.Install(vA, vB, FILE_INSTALL_ALWAYS, true, false, nil, nil);
        if (result == true) then
        	Dialog.Message("Notice", "File installed succesfully to "..vB, MB_OK, MB_ICONINFORMATION, MB_DEFBUTTON1);
        else
        	Dialog.Message("Notice", "File not installed", MB_OK, MB_ICONINFORMATION, MB_DEFBUTTON1);
        end