• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • bookbiz
    Forum Member
    • Jun 2003

Tell me! Should I use APMediaStudio?

Is AutoPlay Media Studio the best software for my needs and skill level? I need help deciding, and will value any constructive input.

I am a published author and designer moving toward self-publishing my work as e-books on CD-rom. Initially, I plan to publish only for Windows users. I have no programming knowledge, but I am moderately computer literate. I have designed several web sites using MS FrontPage, and I produce digital video and digital images on both Mac and PC.

I’m looking for software that will let me produce e-books that contain text, sound, digital images and instructional digital videos. I would also like the end-user to be able to print out patterns from PDF files. I want the end-user to be able to use this book directly from the CD, without the need to install anything on their hard drive (excepting widely used readers for PDF, Flash, etc.)

After extensive research into multi-media authoring programs, I have nearly settled on AutoPlay Media Studio. I’ve read through the web site and much of the forum, and downloaded the trial program. I just need a few questions answered to help me better conceptualize how the software works.

I began by searching for software that would allow me to burn a multimedia web site to a CD-rom. However, I was told the many variables in computers and browsers would give me zero control over how my work looked to the end user. Hence my search for multimedia authoring software. However, I see in APMedia Studio that one of the templates is for a browser. Does this browser exist independently within the finished project, or would it call on whatever browser the end user has installed? If the browser is within APMedia Studio itself, would this imply that web pages could be imported into a Media Studio project?