PDA

View Full Version : auto launch



gd55
08-20-2007, 03:30 PM
Hi.
I'm new to this forum so I don't know if this item has been covered.

Is it possible to have the installed program automatically launch immediately after installation?

Brett
08-21-2007, 08:20 AM
It can be done using a Custom Action. See Actions > Custom Actions on the menu. You will need to run a "Run Executable" custom action and schedule it appropriately.

idrake
08-28-2007, 11:34 PM
Brett, I need this too and I'm tired of noodling around. I have the right custom action, but I can't get it to run after the Finish button is clicked on the last dialog.

Do you know what the correct settings are? If I can just get over this last hurdle, I'll be buying your product. I must say, besides this frustration, it's been awesome.

Brett
08-29-2007, 09:04 AM
Ok, here is a step-by-step:

(this example assumes that the main program executable is in your file list and is being installed)

Select Actions > Custom Actions from the menu.
Add a Run Executable action
Set the Run Executable properties to:
Settings tab
Location: Installed with product
File ID: <find the file in your project>
Attributes
ID: RunProgram
Scheduling: Immediate
Return: Async no wait
<do not enter any Timing entries>
Click OK to accept the custom action and then OK again to get out of the Custom Actions dialog
Select Project > Dialogs
Select the Advanced Edit mode.
In the tree, go to InstallUISequence > Install Completed Successfully
Select the "ExitDialog" dialog
Double-click the Finish button
Select the Published Events tab
Click Add to open the Published Event Properties dialog and set the properties to:
Event: DoAction
Arguments: RunProgram
Condition: 1
Click OK
Move the event above the EndDialog event
Click OK until you are back out to the main screen

That should do it. I have attached a sample project file for your reference.

idrake
08-29-2007, 11:13 AM
Excellent instructions. Camtasia studio might be a huge time saver for you in the future.

I had tried just about everything except this combination of settings. I think the closest I came was having exactly what you described except for step 12!

Thanks.

Saul2
09-01-2009, 02:23 AM
I have done exactly as described by Brett and it worked wonderfully until I tried to override INSTALLDIR during installation.

I. e. I have a product being installed into c:\Program Files\MyApp\MyAppMain.exe by default. If user agrees with the default path then MyAppMain.exe is launched when he clicks Finish. But if user changes the default path to c:\Program Files\MyApp2 then installer simply exits on clicking Finish button.

I tried using "Full path with working folder" ([INSTALLDIR]\MyAppMain.exe) instead of "Installed with product" and got same behavior.

Any ideas?