PDA

View Full Version : Windows Media Player Object



hobbsdan
09-11-2002, 02:43 PM
Looking for help again: I have inserted a Windows Media Player Object using AMP4. It works great on most computers in my lab, but I have a computer in my classroom that will not autoload when this object is on the CD. If I remove it------things work great. It is a Pentium III computer running ME. Any suggestions. I am using the media player to play MP3's. The exe. for the media player is in the programs files/windows/mediaplayer directory and seems to be working okay outside of the application. The CD will not autoload-------it just spins in the CD player and eventually times itself out.

Ideas anyone???

Thanks

Corey
09-11-2002, 02:47 PM
Not sure about about that, but I would not use the media player to play MP3s, I would use the MP3 object... Try using one of the built in MP3 player templates and see if that loads OK.

Corey Milner
Creative Director, Indigo Rose Software (http://www.indigorose.com)

Brett
09-11-2002, 03:16 PM
Are you are it is not a CD-burning issue? Can that same system use other CDs that you burn in the same way?

- Brett

hobbsdan
09-11-2002, 09:27 PM
Hi Brett,

I don't think it is a CD burning issue, but I guess it could be. The reason I don't think it is that is when I take the windows media object off of the CD and burn it----------it plays okay. How would I trouble shoot other CD burning issues? Any idea?

Appreciate your thoughts,

dan

Corey
09-11-2002, 09:30 PM
All the more reason to use the MP3 object.

Corey Milner
Creative Director, Indigo Rose Software (http://www.indigorose.com)

alibaba
09-12-2002, 05:22 AM
I assume the mp3 is at the start of the CD
Did you try re-installing windows me?
Or connecting to the Internet?
I did have a similar problem with a mediaplayer video file and windows me there was some codecs issue,each time the media player activated winme did want to go to internet and download the codecs fresh.If it wasn,t connected it crushed.

re installing windows me has fixed it.

hobbsdan
09-12-2002, 08:45 AM
Corey,

It seems to me the programmers wanted us to use the media player to play MP3's. When you drag an MP3 from the distribution folder to the stage it is the windows media player that launches. I did try using other buttons and it seems to work okay for the play and stop, but I would like a volume control and don't know how to make one going this route. I have appreciated your comments thanks.

dan

hobbsdan
09-12-2002, 08:46 AM
Thanks,

I may try that.